Our Story

Who are we?

Theatre Exterior.jpg

ECHO Players has been presenting live community theatre on the Village Theatre stage for more than 45 years! Community and connection is what we’re all about.

Our group is made up of more than 240 dedicated members from all walks of life. Many of the ECHO “Players” spend countless hours volunteering both on stage and behind the scenes each season.

We produce four Mainstage shows per season. Additionally, we host the Vancouver Island Juried One-Act Play festival every November along with other fundraising events.

ECHO Players is a member of Theatre BC and participates in the Annual North Island Zone Festival. We have received many awards over the years both at the Zone Festivals and Mainstage Festivals.

Our History


Our original group was founded in 1934 as the E.C.H.O. Playmakers (the initials standing for “Errington, Coombs, Hilliers and Others”, as members were drawn from all the neighboring districts).  

The group disbanded during the Second World War and, during the fifties and sixties, members dispersed among a number of other local groups but came together in the founding of the Mid-Island Drama Festival that ran from 1947 to 1958. In 1974 the present group was formed under the name ECHO Players, and we have been operating continuously since then.  

The Village Theatre in Qualicum Beach was originally built in 1949 as a movie theatre and was purchased by ECHO Players in 1974 for $37,000 – a large amount of money for a small group to raise in those days. 

It was then converted into a working theatre, with major renovations required including the building of a stage, acquiring second hand seating, renovating washrooms and creating dressing rooms, all of which was undertaken by members themselves and many volunteers from the community. 

The group worked hard to have the theatre completed by a deadline of March 31, 1975 when they hosted one of the largest North Island Zone Festivals ever with nineteen one-act plays presented over eight nights.

Our Board

+ Echo Players Board of Directors

  • President: Rose Knabb

  • Vice President: Mike Andrews

  • Secretary: Lynne Walker

  • Treasurer: Anne Drozd

  • Past President: Ken McCready

  • Directors: Ron Stoltz, Margaret Jenkins, Stephen Torrence, Kevin Hill-Tout, Jim Windsor, Jennifer Kelly

+ Committee Chairs

  • Artistic Direction Commitee: Vacant

  • Play Reading Committee: Helen Margaret Randall

  • Education: Jennifer Kelly

  • Publicity: Sue Murguly

  • Costume: Pam McCready & Lucy Churchill

  • Concession/Group Bookings: Tricia Browne

  • Phone: Lucy Churchill

  • Script Librarian: Jan Taggert

  • Social: Margaret Jenkins

  • Technical: Ken McCready

  • Theatre Management: Alistair McVey

  • Health & Safety: Alistair McVey

  • The Bugle Newsletter: Kerry Campbell

  • Theatre BC/NIZ: Lesley McVey

  • Set Coordination & Hilliers: Phil Copple & Don Punter

  • Props Coordinator: Judi Andrews

  • Membership: Tricia Browne

  • Website: Ben Rosnau

  • One Act Play Festival: Margaret Jenkins

  • Bar Management: Janet Taggart

  • Archivist: Eileen Butts

  • ECHO Players Arts Fund: Joe Martin

+ Honorary Life Members

  • Sue Murguly

  • George Murguly

  • HM Randall

  • Pat Bolton

  • Linda Attley

  • David Attley

  • Lucy Churchill

  • Paul Churchill

  • Phil Copple

  • Ann Gates

  • Margaret Jenkins

  • Geoff Jenkins

  • Doug Klassen

  • Dori McGarrigle

  • Alistair McVey

  • Leslie McVey

  • Eileen Butts

  • Jay Norton

  • Eileen Pope

  • Jean Smith

  • Ian Taylor

  • Doug Toombs

  • Yvette Toombs